Loading Events

July

23

Educator Workshop: Introduction to Project-Based Curriculum on Sustainability

July 23, 2020 @ 9:00 am - July 24, 2020 @ 2:00 pm CDT

A continuing education workshop teaching educators and administrators to engage students through project-based learning and issues challenging the sustainability of our world.

Location
This workshop will be hosted virtually via Zoom.

Dates
Thursday, July 23 from 9 am Central (10 am Eastern) to 2 pm Central (3 pm Eastern)
Friday, July 24 from 10 am to 3 pm (Eastern) (subject to needs identified on Day 1)

About

More schools are recognizing the value of project-based learning (PBL) as a model for teaching 21st-century skills, but getting started with PBL can be overwhelming and challenging for both teachers and students.

In this workshop, participants will learn the PBL model that has been developed at Global Citizenship Experience Lab School over the last 10 years, and see how some basic elements can be incorporated into their own classrooms. Participants will use the curriculum series ReImagining the Future as a reference to learn the PBL model, and as a resource that can be used in their own classrooms.

As this is an online training, each day will include a combination of synchronous group learning via Zoom, and asynchronous learning when participants are asked to review and adapt resources independently.

A very special thank you to Greenbacker Captial for their investment in sustainable infrastructure and education. Without their support, this program would not be possible.

Greenbacker logo

Register Today!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

When teachers are trained well and PBL is used effectively, it “increases long-term retention of content, helps students perform as well as or better than traditional learners in high-stakes tests, improves problem-solving and collaboration skills, and improves students’ attitudes towards learning” (Edutopia).